Interesting video on the future of publishing

Really liked so many things about this video from the UK branch of Dorling Kindersley on the future of publishing. The thoughts on traditional print versus electronic publishing are thoughtful, but I especially like the subcontext of the attention span of younger readers. My son is 12 and an avid, prolific reader like me; he loves school, and he’s a budding community activist like his parents. As a proud member of Generation X, I can say that I work as hard or harder than my parents … I got married between my junior and senior years of college, have worked full time since graduating (even as a new mother), and for the last ten years have maintained at least one or two freelance writing or graphic arts jobs in addition to my full-time job. We Gen X’ers and the younger generation aren’t lazy … our views and objectives are just lined up a bit differently.

So go publishing! Go new generation of readers. I, for one, am rooting for you … and I appreciate your new approach. Publishing, unlike the bulk of the world around us, has acknowledged the importance of realignment for progression. The future is an open book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.