A Battle of the Doctors

Music is a big part of life here at Becky Moore central. At any point during the day, it’s playing somewhere. I typically keep WCPE 88.9 FM playing during the day (it’s our local classical station that streams worldwide). While we’re cooking dinner we listen to our Red Hot Chili Peppers or California Soul stations on Pandora. And at night we like to listen to our Pink Martini Pandora mix. But on Fridays, I jam out to Michael Jackson.

This morning I was sorting through a stack of CDs, looking for our copy of The Iron Giant … we’re watching it outside tonight, under the stars, and having pizza. 🙂 In the mass of discs, I found the missing Disc Two from my Kiss Box Set. And ohmigod, I’m so happy! God of Thunder! Beth! Christine Sixteen! Hard Luck Woman!

But as I listened to Calling Dr. Love, it occurred to me that my other favorite doctor is Dr. Everything’ll Be Alright. He’s Prince’s doctor, too. And I had to listen to a little Prince and Let’s Go Crazy … and then Raspberry Beret. And now my concentration’s all shot.

Which doctor would you prefer: Dr. Love, or Dr. Everything’ll Be Alright?

My husband would choose Prince, of course, which has always cracked me up. He’s a lifelong classical afficianado, having played first chair to Nicholas Kitchen during his Duke String School days. But in the midst of all his violin’ing, he’s the only person I’ve met to see the Prince and the Revelation’s Purple Rain tour. With Sheila E. and Morris Day and The Time. Bastard.

5 thoughts on “A Battle of the Doctors

  1. What you might find interesting is your mom and I were just a smidgen older than you are now, when we attended those concerts. Does that add a different perspective on life as you know it?

    1. You’re right. Everything lines up, age-wise, too. I was born when my mom was 25, and my son was born when I was 25. The KISS photo was from 2010, so he was 12, just like the first time I went with you. 🙂

  2. I must be getting old but I’m for the “Everything’ll Be Alright” doctor! Ever hopeful I guess 🙂 Still love those concerts and go whenever I can!

Leave a Reply

