Tipping My Hat to A Better Biscuit @tupelohoneycafe

As a southerner, I take pride in my homemade biscuit making prowess. But for the last few years, my boys (the 14 year old and the 40 year old) have really preferred the simplicity of Calumet baking powder biscuits. Like with technology, I follow the KISS principle in baking: keep it simple, stupid.

I fear the simple days of Calumet are gone forever, though … because I got a kickass new cookbook. The Tupelo Honey Cafe cookbook. And I made the Tupelo Honey Ginormous Biscuits. There’s no going back now. Look at those beautiful biscuits. I did a good job!

Imagine recipes for Lemon Vinaigrette (p. 48), Blackberry Skillet Jam (p. 38), Chicken Andouille Stir-Fry with Orange Jalapeno Glaze (p. 134), Chicken Apple Meat Load with Tarragon Tomato Gravy (p. 132), Peach Cobbler with Candied Almonds (p. 215) … and the Tupelo Honey Ginormous Biscuits (p. 189). Did you notice lots of chicken dishes? Since we don’t eat red meat, this book seems to have been tailor-written for us.

If you only buy one cookbook this year, give your attention to these “spirited recipes from Asheville’s new south kitchen.” I promise, you’ll thank me. I can’t wait to go back to Asheville so we can eat at the Tupelo Honey Cafe. It’s nice to find some new recipes to try at home, but everything tastes better when somebody else makes it.

– – > Are you a cookbook fan?
Got any suggestions for can’t-be-missed titles?

2 thoughts on “Tipping My Hat to A Better Biscuit @tupelohoneycafe

Leave a Reply

