Skip to content
April 13, 2012 / beckymoore

Soccer 2.0 … Or, How Many Things Can I Get Back into This Last Year of My 30s?

Pray for me people.

I grew up playing soccer, and LOVED it. I was good. I played striker and roving midfielder because I was a runner. I once scored from the 50-yard line. It was a-maz-ing.

But after a really bad car accident in college, childbirth, and a decade of … living …  it’s been a while since I’ve played on an actual team. But my soul mate signed us up for an adult co-ed (over 30) team. And our first game is Sunday. We’re called the Chaos.

So far, so good, on the practice, though. I’ve been a little sore, but have managed to stay out of the way of the steamroller men plowing down the field. I told my team, “Look, I’m not taking a hit for anybody. Okay?”

When the groaned, I gave them the stink-eye and they smiled and said, “Oh, okay!”

We don’t have a formal coach, per say; rather, we’re just 15 adults who are all bossy and have played before, and forge our path by rock-paper-scissors. One of the women was complaining during last week’s practice. “What kind of a lineup are we making anyway? This isn’t a 4 – 4 – 2!”

I said, “Dude–this is our Chaos play. Every play is our Chaos play, that’s why the name of the team is so badass.”

And that it is. Badass, I mean. So on Sunday afternoon at 1:00 pm EST, give a little shout-out for the Chaos, and send us some good karma. Oh–and you might want to go ahead and buy one of my books. I may need it to cover the insurance. 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Avid Reader / Apr 13 2012 1:43 pm

    “Chaos” is such a perfect word for so many things. It’s what I hope you create for the opposing team for sure! I’ve purchased your books in the past so hope that will count for the trip to the emergency room (if necessary). Be sure to kick some serious butt with your badass team 🙂

Leave a Reply

