Scavenger Hunt Answers … and WINNER!

Day 1: Monday

  • Q: How long is the Appalachian Trail, and how many states does it run through?
  • A: It’s 2,181 miles long and runs through 14 states (Georgia through Maine).
  • BONUS: How many species of Fir tree can be found in the Appalachians?
  • A.: The Appalachians are home to two species of fir: Balsam and Fraser.

Day 2: Tuesday

  • Q: Because of Charleston’s intimate, yet cosmopolitan flare and robust infrastructure, the Spoletto Festival was founded in 1977 to create an American counterpart to what counterpart festival in Italy? 
  • A: Festival of Two Worlds in Spoleto, Italy.
  • BONUS 1:  What is the title of the festival that runs in tandem with Spoleto, but focuses on artists of the southeast region? 
  • A: Piccolo Spoleto Festival 
  • BONUS 2:  What is the most common material used as the core bundle in the traditional Gullah Sweetgrass baskets, which you can watch being made downtown in Charleston at the market? 
  • A: The most common material used as the core bundle in early work baskets was black rush, known locally as bulrush, rushel or needlegrass. The coils were bound with strips of white oak or saw palmetto stem. Sweetgrass, commonly known as purple muhly grass, became popular only at the beginning of the twentieth century, when makers in Mount Pleasant began making “show baskets” to sell to the tourists along Route 17. Later light duty baskets are commonly made of Sweetgrass stitched with palm leaf. Long Leaf Pine needles or bulrush may be added to the coil as a decorative element.

Day 3: Wednesday

  • Q: What famous drink was invented in May 1886 by Dr. John S. Pemberton in Atlanta, GA?
  • A: Coca-Cola.
  • BONUS 1:  Where was it first sold?
  • A: Coca-Cola was first sold at a soda fountain in Jacob’s Pharmacy in Atlanta by Willis Venable.
  • BONUS 2: Atlanta is one of only two cities in the world to be home to two Nobel Peace Prize Winners. Who were they? [Hint: one of them is a personal hero of mine.]
  • A: Martin Luther King, Jr. (1964), and President Jimmy Carter (2002). President Carter is one of my heroes.

Day 4: Thursday

  • Q: What are the titles in my hockey series about the fictional Carolina Oak Leaves?
  • A: The Penalty Box, and Icing on the Cake.
  • BONUS: What historical romance author provided a blurb for my first romance, The Right Words?
  • A: Deb Marlowe
  • BONUS 2: Can you fill in the blank, and tell me which recipe I’m quoting?
    “I’m typically of the opinion that sweets without chocolate are simply not worth the [blank].”
  • A: “calories,” from the recipe for Bunny Cookies.

Day 5: Friday

  • Q: What are your two favorite 1Night Stand stories? Or, if the series is new to you, what are your favorite covers?
  • A: There is no right or wrong answer. I like different things about each of the stories, so I thought I’d note my favorite covers. Other than mine (which is particularly lovely, I think), I love the covers for Cinderella Wore Combat Boots, and Almost Perfect.

… based on my highly scientific method of writing the name of each commenter on a piece of paper (one entry per question or bonus comment), then having my son draw out a name:

KATHRYN ANNE MERKEL

E-mail your address to me at becky [ at ] becky moore [ dot ] net so I can mail your prize package. Thanks for playing, and I hope you enjoy the story!

PS. Apologies for the earlier mixup. The archive feature can be my best friend, and my most irritating enemy. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Answers … and WINNER!

  1. aah! My archive page posted and I’m out and about and can’t fix it formally. But based on my highly scientific method of writing the name of each commenter on a piece of paper (one entry per question or bonus comment), then having my son draw out a name … The winner is Kathryn Anne Merkel. I’ll fix the post when we get home. Kathryn, if you’re reading this: I’ll be in touch. Thanks for participating, y’all!

Leave a Reply

