The Perfect Parfait

I am not a dairy person.

There, I said it. In all of my life, I know one other person who doesn’t eat cheese, and she’s one of my best friends. Perhaps it’s the weirdness that brought us together. Who knows. My two main sources of dairy-based calcium, though, are skim milk and yogurt. I try to have both each day, though I’m very particular about the yogurt. I can’t just put a spoonful of yogurt in my mouth … yuck!

So I like to make parfaits. And I think I’ve perfected them, from simple, healthy ingredients, to fresh seasonal fruit, to cost efficient efforts, I think I have crafted the perfect parfait.

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 ounces vanilla yogurt (I like Vanilla Activia)
  • 1 Tbsp granola (I make mine homemade; keep on reading for my EASY method)
  • Fresh fruit (today we’re using about 9 fresh raspberries)

To make the granola:
I’ve tried several different recipes for homemade granola, but in the end have come to the conculsion that this basic method is the most tasty and holds up to being mixed in with the granola. The oatmeal plumps up after a minute or two and offers a satisfying texture (while helping to keep your cholesterol low), and the toasted almonds are so yummy.

Spread your plain quick oats onto a baking sheet no more than 1/4 inch (‘ish) thick. Add in a handful of plain sliced or slivered almonds. My typical ratio is for 1/2 cup of oats, I use about 1 Tbsp of almonds. I like it nutty.

~ ~ ~

Easy assembly:

Spoon your yogurt into a bowl deep enough that you can use a spoon to mix it around. Shallow cereal bowls = fail. Sprinkle about 1 Tbsp of your cooled granola into the bowl and stir it in.

~ ~ ~

Add your fresh fruit. When I use raspberries, I like to mash them with my spoon so they break apart and the sweet juice helps to flavor the parfait.

My very favorite fruit to add is white peaches during the summertime, but fresh blueberries are also divine!

~ ~ ~

And Wa-la! The Perfect Parfait.

 

About beckymoore

I'm tall and buxom, highly educated and culturally savvy. I'm a world traveler, problem solver, crusader. Thankful for the love of reading I inherited from my mom, mother to a superbly cool kid, wife to the world’s most handsome man. A marathon runner, freelance photographer, faithful companion to Magnolia May the beagle, and a prolific reader and writer. And when you exit this page or close my books, I'll just be a fond memory.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

