High 5 (x2): Christmas Music

I love Christmas. I love talking to family and friends in far away lands who touch base once a year, and visiting up close and personal with those who are close by. I love baking and sharing goodies, and smiling at the Salvation Army bellringers. I love putting up our Christmas tree and telling a story with each ornament we hang (our son is 13 now, and he’s taking on the storytelling tradition, too). I love driving around neighborhoods and downtown and seeing all the beautiful (and often tacky) lights. I love the Christmas pageants, and the cantadas. And I love Christmas music. Here are my top five … times two:

  1. John Lennon: Happy Christmas War is Over
  2. David Bowie and Bing Crosby: Little Drummer Boy
    (this is my favorite Christmas song, by the way)
  3. Squirrel Nut Zippers: Sleigh Ride
  4. Brian Setzer Orchestra: Angels We Have Heard on High
  5. Vince Guaraldi: Linus and Lucy
  6. Billy Squier: Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You
  7. Jackson 5: Santa Claus is Coming to Town
  8. Mariah Carey: All I Want for Christmas
    (admittedly, I’m not a fan of Mariah’s, but this song is wonderful)
  9. Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney: Silver Bells
    (for my mother, who loves the movie White Christmas)
  10. Aretha Franklin: O’ Holy Night

PS: I just started piano lessons for the first time, in November, and I’ve been working on Jingle Bells and Good King Wenceslas. So to our family and friends who celebrate Christmas Eve with us: brace yourselves. I’m bringing my keyboard.

Leave a Reply

