Spiced Pumpkin Bread

There is no better smell filling our home than spiced pumpkin bread. At breakfast yesterday, my son asked if I’d make some and I thought: why not? Seriously, this is like manna from heaven.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 16-oz can solid pack pumpkin
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp hazlenut extract
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp ground golden flaxseed
  • 1/4-cup brown sugar (optional, for sprinkling on top)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour your pans (I like to make 6 muffins and 2 medium-sized loaves of bread). Beat together the sugar and oil in a large bowl to blend. Mix in eggs, pumpkin and your extracts. Sift in the dry ingredients (flour, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, salt) and blend well. I typically use a large whisk and mix it all by hand. My arm’s killing me by the time it’s done, but I enjoy the process.

Scoop the mixture by 1/3-cup measurements into the six muffin cups, and then divide the remaining batter into the two loaf pans. Sprinkle plain brown sugar on the top of the batter (streusel-style). Bake until your cake tester comes out clean when you insert it into the center … about an hour and a couple extra minutes. Transfer to racks and cool completely.

About beckymoore

I'm tall and buxom, highly educated and culturally savvy. I'm a world traveler, problem solver, crusader. Thankful for the love of reading I inherited from my mom, mother to a superbly cool kid, wife to the world’s most handsome man. A marathon runner, freelance photographer, faithful companion to Magnolia May the beagle, and a prolific reader and writer. And when you exit this page or close my books, I'll just be a fond memory.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spiced Pumpkin Bread

  1. Rita says:

    A favorite anytime of the year!

  2. beckymoore says:

    Very true, Rita. We do enjoy this year-round. Though, I learned a hard leseson last year: our local grocery stores only stock solid packed pumpkin in the fall. Over the summer, we were cursing the abundant cans of pumpkin pie filling. This year, I’m stocking up!

  3. Pingback: High 5: Christmas Cooking « Becky Moore ~ Romance Author

Leave a Reply

