Cookie Days 2012: Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

So, as it turns out, when a recipe calls for using a Cuisinart, it’s most likely correct. Most likely. I got a Cuisinart seventeen years ago for a wedding present, but it gave out around 2008. For the most part, I’ve been able to do all of my food processing activities in other ways … but tonight, in making these rosemary shortbread cookies, I came to the realization that I need to add a new food processor to my list.

But I digress. This is a YUMMY recipe that’s really different, and one I think our friends and family will rave about during our Christmas party tonight. I’m putting them on a tray with herbed goat cheese, salted pecans, and raisin-pistachio crackers. It’s our 18th annual, and a definite highlight of the holiday season. I think this is an old Southern Living recipe, but I’m not sure … it’s the first time I’ve made it in a couple of years. Post-Cuisinart.

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup chilled butter
  • 1/4 cup sifted powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp fresh rosemary, minced
  1. Process the flour, butter, powdered sugar, and rosemary until the mixture forms a ball.
  2. Roll the dough to a 1/4-inch thickness on a lightly floured surface, then cut out cookies using whatever cutter floats your boat. I used snowflakes and round ornament (read: circles) shapes this year.
  3. Bake at 325 degrees for 18 to 20 minutes.
  4. You can sprinkle them with granulated sugar when they come out of the oven, but are still hot, if you like. It’s pretty, and adds a nice little kick.

PS. Did I mention that I’d like a new Cuisinart this year? If you’ve got an in with the Big Guy, I’d appreciate a shout-out.

2 thoughts on “Cookie Days 2012: Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

