Happy Thanksgiving

I awoke this morning with devout thanksgiving for my friends, the old and the new.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

I try to be gracious and thankful all year long, but this evening while my family is celebrating Thanksgiving, we’ll take hands and say a prayer of thanks, then go around the table and give one thing we’re thankful for.

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.
– John Fitzgerald Kennedy

I’m thankful for a loving husband and partner who challenges me everyday in the best ways; a beautiful son who thinks I hang the moon and stars (a reciprocal feeling, I assure you), despite the testosterone poisoning bubbling just beneath the surface; a healthy, happy mother with her two new trick, robotic knees; my extended in-law family, who are supportive and fun and loving; the opportunity I have to follow my dreams; the possibilility to be and do anything because we live in these great United States; the men and women of our armed forces who face peril and adversity every day, particularly when they wake and find themselves still in a foreign land; my own health and happiness, laughter and humor, freedom and independence; our beloved Magnolia May the Wonder Beagle, and even Dilly Freckles, la gato del muerte (who hasn’t killed us yet); for the hope that pervades human spirit and sets us apart from our four-legged brethren. I am thankful, and hopeful that you are, too.

When I started counting my blessings, my whole life turned around. – Willie Nelson

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. We have the same tradition of telling what we’re thankful for – it really puts things in perspective!

    And we’re thankful for you too, Becky! Keep up the great work!

  2. Thanks so much, Rebecca! I am thankful for a great reader’s community, and supportive folks like you. It’s also nice to hear that you have things to be thankful for, too. That, in itself, is a blessing. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

