Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

When I used to work in pharmaceutical advertising, the editorial director brought in this hot chocolate mix during the cold, winter months. We practically fought over it, and finally one day she shared the recipe so we would act (more) like adults and share. Plus, she was pretty wise to get us to share the costs.

Last week on Friday, I came home to a bag on the kitchen counter with a note from my mom: “Here are all of the ingredients for your hot chocolate! You can keep some for yourself, too. :)”

Geesh … moms.

  • 1 box (9.6 oz) of Carnation Instant Nonfat Dry Milk
  • 1-1/2 (1-1/2 lb) boxes of Nestle’s Quick
  • 1 jar (11 oz) Coffeemate
  • 1 box (1 lb) 10x powdered sugar

Whisk all of the ingredients together until it’s thoroughly combined. Mix 1/3 cup of mix with 1 cup hot water. It’s heavenly! This makes about 28 cups of hot chocolate.

About beckymoore

I'm tall and buxom, highly educated and culturally savvy. I'm a world traveler, problem solver, crusader. Thankful for the love of reading I inherited from my mom, mother to a superbly cool kid, wife to the world’s most handsome man. A marathon runner, freelance photographer, faithful companion to Magnolia May the beagle, and a prolific reader and writer. And when you exit this page or close my books, I'll just be a fond memory.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

  1. Pingback: High 5: Christmas Cooking « Becky Moore ~ Romance Author

  2. nikki says:

    what size of dry milk do you use? excited to try this

    • beckymoore says:

      Hmm … I’ve made this for so many years that I can’t recall the exact measurement, but I can tell you that a couple years ago Carnation changed their packaging so that now, rather than a big box of powdered milk, there’s a square’ish shaped box with three large envelopes of powdered milk. I use all three envelopes.

  3. beckymoore says:

    Nikki – your question prompted me to dig out the recipe to see if I had exact measurements, and I found them! I’m adding them to the recipe above. Thanks for writing in!

Leave a Reply

