A Friendly Incentive

I struck a deal with my friend, Amy, over the weekend to give us a little writing incentive: everyday, Monday through Friday, we’re e-mailing our new manuscript pages to each other. She owes me a page a day, and I owe her three. We’re not reading any of it, but knowing I forgot to send my three pages last night is weighing on my conscience. I’m sending yesterday’s pages over as soon as I save this post.

It’s actually a pretty good exercise, and is certainly flexing my mental muscle in preparation of NaNoWriMo 2011 in November. I’ve got a new romantic action series that I’m dying to get started on, but my current manuscript is looming overhead. When I finish this manuscript, then I can move on to the series. That’s my incentive.

  • What’s yours?
Leave a Reply

