A View Askew

I should’ve known that any Monday starting out with lazily skipping my 7 am post-bus stop drop-off workout at the YMCA would be sketchy, at best. The time change last week was killing me, so I thought maybe I had banked up the right to sleep in … then over the weekend we had a crazy go-kart session for my son’s 13th birthday party on Friday and a Sunday evening Blue Man Group performance. That screams skip the dawn workout and walk the dog when the temperatures are higher after lunch, right?

But leisure was not to be my gift today. The original plan was to pick up take-out Chinese, head to my mom’s at 11:30 to help in her garden, take the dog on a long walk, shower and be ready to drop off my son at math tutoring from 3 – 5 pm … and then park myself at the library to get a little writing in. Whew, a busy day — but when properly choreographed, totally doable.

Instead, my car wouldn’t start when I got back in with our hot, odiferous Chinese in tow. It took 50 minutes for AAA to come to my rescue (even though I was within sight of the AAA service facility in my little hometown). I had to drop off my car at the Nissan service department, where the technician discussed with me all the nuances of when to worry about the engine and when not to–because apparently my breasts made my car sense fly out the window. My mother came to my rescue at the service department and we heated up lunch at 1:30. We didn’t get any gardening done, but she lent me her car for my afternoon errands.

BUT … when I got home, one of my pretty little pink tulips had bloomed. Yesterday it seemed the tulips were still a good week away from opening up, but this one perfect little bulb in the center of the garden was waiting for me. It knew I needed a reset to the day, a smile on my lips and a pep in my step.

Thanks Mother Nature, for offering me an olive branch and giving the view askew I needed to look at things a little differently. Turns out, it wasn’t such a bad day afterall.

One thought on “A View Askew

  1. My tulips have come up in the last few days also. Red!!! Very pretty. Beautiful flowers do lift your spirits and just seeing the yard come together makes the day a little brighter.

Leave a Reply

