It’s An Old-School Music Kind of Day

I was having a conversation with a friend about a ridiculous amount of helicopter noise overhead last night … turns out the local ROTC from three neighboring university and community colleges were practicing “boarding” out here in the wilds of central North Carolina … and he mentioned they sounded like Apache’s. Satisfied with the observation, I couldn’t get ‘Apache’ off my mind and hit up the Google machine to find some old Sugar Hill Gang.

An hour later–along with an elevated heartrate and sweaty temples, I’m ready to get back to business. But I thought I might tempt you with a handful of my favorite dancing tunes from back in the day. I miss great hiphop music like this, minus the ‘bitches’ and ‘hos’, violence and aggressive staccato rhythms so prevalent today. My husband and I play this old music for our son all the time, because it’s a great part of musical history. (Plus, I don’t want him to get mad at me or some other woman one day and call us a bitch or a ho. I might have to kill him.)

And as a parting thought and tip of the hat for my girl, Queen Latifah, who you callin’ a bitch? Not my boys … U.N.I.T.Y.

3 thoughts on “It’s An Old-School Music Kind of Day

  1. Actually, I DID mention Blackhawks, but dismissed them as I usually don’t see them flying in the area with any great frequency. 😉

Leave a Reply

