Patience is a Virtue … for Other People

It feels like I’ve never been as busy as when I left full-time work in November. I don’t feel like I’m doing anything different, yet I never feel like I take a break. Know what I’m talking about? Take, for example, patience. I’m one of the most impatient people I know. It’s a horrible trait and habit, but I’ve been working on it. And mostly I’m doing a good job. But today, it’s Monday with a bang.

My 12 year old is just about the most fun person I know. I can’t wait to hear what’s going to come out of his mouth next. But as he’s gotten older, I have to take into account things he wants to do rather than just figuring out cool things to do for him. It’s hard to adjust; I know I have to. He’s in year-round school here in North Carolina, which means that his general schedule is nine weeks in school, followed by three weeks out instead of having a solid school year from September through June and a three month summer break. The holidays break it up so that it’s not a straight pie cut 9 week on/3 week off deal, but that’s the general idea. This break has been a hard one. We’re on week three, and getting on each other’s nerves. When he was little, he spent his breaks in camps. This break, he participated in half-day camp during week two. Other than that, he wants to play video games. I object. So I’m having to exercise my patience with a vengeance today.

I thought setting a goal for patience might be a nice exercise.

1. Remember that patience is a virtue. That’s a moral excellence, and my morals are only at about fair-to-middlin’ most days … you can see the challenge.
2. The patience I need to learn is spelled ’P-A-T-I-E-N-C-E’, not patients. Without patience, I’ll just make myself one of many patients in the nuthouse.
3. Finish the second book in my hockey trilogy, Icing on the Cake and submit it so I can move onto the next book. The characters are already starting to crowd my head.
4. Laugh as much as last year, squared.
5. Play with Peyton as much as last year, tripled. Even though he’s getting older, he’s still a little boy and a lot of fun.
6. Challenge Matt as much as last year, squared.
7. Keep up the good work with the YMCA. For one thing, it burns off the booze. For another, it’s a good way to generate ‘P-A-T-I-E-N-C-E’.

PS. if you use Merriam-Webster to look up ‘PATIENCE’ online, it’ll tell you that it’s a 13th century circa noun that means “the capacity, habit, or fact of being patient.” How in the hell am I supposed to interpret that? Whoops … there goes my patience!

Leave a Reply

