Cookie Days | Snickerdoodles

I’ve been smiling for the last half hour while making snickerdoodles for my sweetie. Honestly, I’ve always felt that any cookie without some component of chocolate is a waste of calories, but in this case I’m happy to make an exception. Snickerdoodles, to me, are a bit of an acquired taste. I can’t eat every variety I come upon … but I was lucky enough to find a snappy snickerdoodle recipe a couple of years ago that’s now a family staple. We’re having a huge Christmas party on Saturday night–our 17th annual, to be more specific–and I’ve been baking like crazy this week. If you’re keeping the kitchen busy this holiday season like me, then perhaps you’ll find a new favorite in this simple recipe.

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I use King Arthur unbleached)
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tbsp sugar

Heat oven to 375 degrees

Cream together the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl (about two minutes). Add the vanilla and egg, and beat until smooth. Add the flower, cream of tartar, salt, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon; beat until smooth (about a minute) … keep in mind, this is a thick batter.

In a separate bowl, combine 3 Tbsp sugar and remaining 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon. Shape the dough into 1- to 1-1/2 inch balls, then roll in the cinnamonĀ sugar mixture. Place them about aninch apart on a lined or prepared cookie sheet. Some recipes call for you to flatten the balls with the bottom of a glass, but I like to leave mine in round balls because the baked cookies are sort of like pillows. Mmm …

Yields: 3 – 4 dozen

One thought on “Cookie Days | Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

