Glad Ya’ll Are Finally Catching On!

Although I’ve been married 16 years, the spice in my love life has definitely not turned mild. In fact, it downright smolders nowadays.

I love my husband more and more each day–even when he gets on my nerves so bad I want to pinch his head off. Not only do I hold near and dear to my heart our wonderful friendship and endless companionship, but also my mister’s wild and enthusiastic streak between the … er … sheets. I know it seems a bit crass to discuss such intimate details of a 16-year old marriage, but I can attribute it to a shared lifelong adventurous spirit and my writing.

I’m a voracious reader and fill my mind with everything from To Kill A Mockingbird to The Lightning Thief, and Hot Night to my own The Right Words. I can pinpoint the exact moment I started reading romance: we were snowed in with a 36-inch blizzard in January 2001. An oddity in North Carolina, for sure, and one that closed all municipal activity for weeks. A horrible travesty unfolded when I realized I was out of reading material–except for the handful of romance novels I’d bought my mother as a birthday gift. So I unwrapped those damned books and read all four of them. Twice before the library re-opened and I could go get more. They were like crack. The plots and characters were so interesting and different. And titillating. Whoo. Two years later, I was reading a Kinley McGregor story about a sexy highlander, and in the back of the book there was a card asking, “Do you think you can write a romance novel?”

Yes, I decided. I could.

I’ve written everything else under the sun, so I read and read and read as many romances as I could find. I quickly weeded out the books and authors that didn’t interest me, and set upon my journey to become a published romance novelist. About three years ago, around 2007, I a handful of novels at some degree of completion. But as a full-time journalist and grantwriter, romance novels were relegated to the after-dinner-to-bedtime time slot. Slow-going, to say the least, but in December 2009 I sold my first book.

I’ve always read my work out loud, whether it’s a corporate white paper or an interview with the Governor, a grant for HIV/AIDS or my romance work. 2007 became a banner year for us, because I incorporated a new kind of material into my read aloud pile. And, let me tell you, my husband surely listened. With rapt attention.

Check out an interesting story that Fox News ran last week, in its Body & Mind section: Erotica: Sexy Bedtime Stories.

The best part about literary erotica is that it tends to be less threatening to users than its cinematographic counterpart. The only body images and acts to emulate are those you manufacture in your mind.

So go on Fox News, with your bad self, for encouraging readers to include literary erotica in their repertoire. I certainly do, and I can vouch for the benefits of a great imagination!

About beckymoore

I'm tall and buxom, highly educated and culturally savvy. I'm a world traveler, problem solver, crusader. Thankful for the love of reading I inherited from my mom, mother to a superbly cool kid, wife to the world’s most handsome man. A marathon runner, freelance photographer, faithful companion to Magnolia May the beagle, and a prolific reader and writer. And when you exit this page or close my books, I'll just be a fond memory.
This entry was posted in Keen Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glad Ya’ll Are Finally Catching On!

  1. Rita says:

    I have always loved romance novels and fortunately they have become “the thing” to read. While I never tried to hide the fact I read romance I did have to put up with a lot of ribbing from family and friends. Glad the rest of the world has caught up with me at last.

Leave a Reply

