Pancakes on Sunday Morning

With two full-time jobs, middle school, challenge soccer league, pets, parents, in-laws, recreation, and the occasional nap, life is extremely hectic. But weekends belong to the three of us … me, my husband and my son. We sleep late; play outside; go on long hikes with the dog; go on day trips; depending on weather we go kayaking or cycling or golfing … and just generally spend time together. But by far the best weekend tradition we have is brunch. My specialty is egg white and veggie omelets, pancakes, and French toast. Today, we had my World Famous Perfect Pancakes. I thought the recipe was worth sharing.

  • 1-1/4 cups all-purpose, unbleached flour (whole wheat flour works well, too)
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/4 cups skim milk
  • 2 Tbsp oil (sometimes I use 1 Tbsp olive oil and 1 Tbsp Wesson oil; hazlenut oil is really yummy, too!)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract

Add all dry ingredients to a large Pyrex measuring cup or mixing bowl; whisk in the wet ingredients until batter is smooth. Pour in ~3 inch diameter pancakes over hot griddle. NOTE: I mostly pay attention to the ingredients; I figure everyone knows how to pour and flip pancakes. I mix up the sizes of the pancakes so that some of them are “silver dollar” size, like my grandmother used to make. Those are about the size of two quarters; my son LOVES them. 🙂

~ ~ ~

At my house we don’t buy frozen, processed pancakes … so this recipe makes enough for me and the boys to have breakfast, and then we freeze the rest in gallon Ziplock bags. School mornings, my son likes to take out two pancakes to heat in the toaster oven. It’s a great healthy way for him to start the day!

About beckymoore

I'm tall and buxom, highly educated and culturally savvy. I'm a world traveler, problem solver, crusader. Thankful for the love of reading I inherited from my mom, mother to a superbly cool kid, wife to the world’s most handsome man. A marathon runner, freelance photographer, faithful companion to Magnolia May the beagle, and a prolific reader and writer. And when you exit this page or close my books, I'll just be a fond memory.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pancakes on Sunday Morning

  1. Rita says:

    I just love family traditions and this one sounds especially sweet!

  2. Pingback: High 5: Christmas Cooking « Becky Moore ~ Romance Author

Leave a Reply

