Skip to content
March 20, 2010 / beckymoore

Everybody’s Got A Story to Tell

Everybody’s got a story to tell. That’s a realization I made as a little girl. My dad was a Vietnam War veteran who left my mother and I when I was in elementary school, so I grew up with little money, but lot of imagination. The library was always available, as was the radio, and I learned early that books and music could take me anywhere.

At just about any given time, there’s a soundtrack running through my mind that accompanies the swirling stories and characters. Music helps to organize my thoughts and document my memories. Take, for example, the Beatles sad tale of Eleanor Rigby, who lived and died alone, with only Father McKinzey, who was also lonely, to officiate her funeral at which there were no guests. That’s one of the saddest stories I’ve ever heard, yet the truth of it resonates in my mind whenever I hear it.

It is part of what influenced my decision to work as a writer and freelance journalist in the world outside of my romance stories. I’m attracted to the human condition, and the idea that every person you come across most likely has something to say. The single mother in line, again, at the food pantry getting food for her children … thankful that today she’s not standing on the corner instead. The lost-looking man pushing a cart, shuffling invisibly through the downtown hustle and bustle of people in power suits. What drove them to the circumstances of their current situation? What bad choices did they make, or what warnings did they ignore? How were their choices taken from them? How do they survive?

That’s why I know that everybody’s got a story to tell … something to contribute … some reason to be noticed. As a voracious reader, I work to find new authors all the time. For one thing, I read faster than my favorites can churn out. For another, what if they’re hit by a bus and never publish another story again? I tell myself that even Linda Howard and Julie Garwood and Shannon McKenna had firsts once upon a time … so I’m honored to join their ranks and hope that readers everywhere will find that Becky Moore has a story to tell, too.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rita / Mar 20 2010 7:10 pm

    Everyone does have a story to tell. I agree that the story doesn’t have to be earth shattering or change the world in anyway. It just has to have meaning for you. Think about the Academy Awards this year. The story of a soldier facing danger everyday and staying on the right course; a woman opening her door and bringing a homeless kid into her life and family; a fantastic story of blue people on another planet just trying to save their way of life….so many ideas that just grab you and make you think and feel. Reading has always been a way for me to experience joy, sadness, travel, history, laughter, family, and just plain old pleasure. I also am always on the look-out for new writers. I look forward to reading your first book “The Right Words” as soon as it’s available.

  2. beckymoore / Mar 20 2010 8:03 pm

    Thanks so much, Rita. You got it. I appreciate your feedback, and your time!

Leave a Reply

