Skip to content
March 17, 2010 / beckymoore

There’s Gold at the End of the Rainbow

Really … if you just open up to the possibility of happiness and success. I’ve worked for years in my real-life world as a freelance journalist published in magazines, newspapers, and an Alfred R. Murrow-award winning news site … but the pot of gold in my life came in December, when Becky Moore was born and her first novel sold.

I think it’s always important to look on the brighter side of life—and no, my life is not a series of cheap clichés. But we are inundated by sorrowful, violent, panicky news on a daily basis. Natural disasters, suicide and unemployment are on the rise, while hope, R&D, and healthcare are on the decline. For crying out loud, the earthquake in Chile shifted the world’s axis and shortened days by 1.26 microseconds. Like we needed that.

So it’s important to forge ahead; take higher and longer steps to get yourself out of the muck that has the potential to pull anyone down. My son celebrated his 12th birthday on Sunday. I sold my first novel in December. The Wolfpack has advanced to the NCAA tournament. My mother beat her diabetes diagnoses in just six months and doesn’t have to take any more meds. My garden’s peppered with bright yellow daffodils and vibrant purple crocus (my neighbors are soon to be green with envy).

Not every good thing that can happen to you has to move mountains or make the heavens sing … the best victories are closest to your heart and the hardest to obtain. They’re the ones that make the most difference in your life, and the ones you will cling to when some days are harder than others.

So today, on St. Patrick’s Day, find a little Leprechaun in your life to lead you to your own pot of gold. I promise … it’s there. You’ve just got to look.

Leave a Reply

